Science One News

Ella Chan giving a keynote talk at Creating Connections 6.0

Science One student and 2018 STEAM Horizon Award Recipient Ella Chan will be giving a keynote talk at Creating Connections 6.0 along side Michelle Romanow from Dragon's Den and Sabina Nowaz, a Global CEO Coach.

UBC alumnus exposes data vulnerability in new bike share service

Science One alumnus Tristan Rice showed that the app by Dropbike, the new bike sharing service on campus, has some serious vulnerabilities, including being able to unlock the bikes at will and obtaining sensitive user data.

Mohammad Asadi Lari wins 3M National Student Fellowship

Mohammad Asadi Lari, a Science One alumni who recently graduated from the University of British Columbia and is starting the MD/PhD program at the University of Toronto, has won a 3M fellowship for his work in providing students a voice with the STEM Fellowship Journal.

Eliminating the Penny in Canada: An Economic Analysis of Penny-Rounding on Grocery Items by Christina Cheung

See the paper that won Christina the best undergraduate paper in the Atlantic Economic Journal!

Philip Edgcumbe leads XPRIZE Alzheimer’s Disease Team into highest honours

Science One alumni Philip Edgcumbe, a MD/PhD student here at UBC, led a team that developed a proposal for a multi-million dollar incentive prize to end Alzheimer’s. The award comes with the announcement that they will receive $25 million in funding from Edelman Financial Services to support the research. The team hopes to compete in the 2018 XPRIZE global competition. He also recently won the 2017 Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (CMHF) Award for his outstanding student contributions to leadership.

Iris Automation Closes $8M Series A to Bring AI Technology to Autonomous Flying Vehicles

Congratulations to Science One alumni Aaron Bailey, the Head of Business Development at Iris Automation. Iris Automation, a provider of collision avoidance for commercial drones, announced an $8 million Series A financing round to further development.